Rajya Sabha election: Expects of cross voting of MLA, know what is the mathematics of votes in Haryana

Rajya Sabha election Expects of cross voting of MLA, know what is the mathematics of votes in Haryana
Rajya Sabha election Expects of cross voting of MLA, know what is the mathematics of votes in Haryana

Haryana is likely to have a game in the elections for three Rajya Sabha seats. There will be a regular by-election for two seats of Rajya Sabha and one seat. If there is no political game, the BJP-JJP alliance is sure to get two seats and the Congress candidate will win one seat, but the way the BJP is preparing to field its candidates in all three seats, it seems that cross-voting between MLAs Might be possible.

Haryana has 90 MLAs. BJP has 40 and Congress has 31 MLAs. The support of 10 JJP and six of the seven Independent MLAs is with the BJP. Independent MLA Balraj Kundu, one INLD MLA Abhay Chautala and one Halopa MLA Gopal Kanda will all be watching the vote.

Ramkumar Kashyap to resign before the time and Ku. Due to the completion of the term of Sailja, there will be regular elections in both these seats, whose duration will be from 10 April 2020 to 9 April 2026, while the term of the seat vacated due to the resignation of Birendra Singh is till 1 August 2022, hence the by-election on this seat. Will be made. Separate notifications have been issued for both these elections.

When elections are to be held for a Rajya Sabha seat, the value of the vote of all the members of the Legislative Assembly is one as per the provisions of the Conduct of Elections Rules 1961. In this case, to win the election, the total number of members of the assembly is added and divided by two and one is added and the number that comes is the minimum vote (quota) to win the election.

The Haryana Legislative Assembly has 90 members. Dividing it by two will make this number 45, and adding one to it makes it 46. The candidate thus winning needs the support of 46 votes i.e. 46 MLAs. Since the BJP has 40 MLAs and has the support of 10 JJP and six independents, the joint became 56, so winning a seat in the Rajya Sabha by-election is a mere formality for the BJP-JJP alliance.

Congress has 31 MLAs, so it will have to raise 15 more MLAs for the by-election seat, which is impossible in the present circumstances. Therefore, only the BJP-JJP alliance candidate will nominate for this one seat and he can be declared directly elected unopposed by the returning officer.

If we talk about two regular seats of Rajya Sabha, then according to the existing legal provisions, the formula for determining minimum quota to win elections under such circumstances is different. For this, the total number of members of the Haryana Legislative Assembly is multiplied by 100 and divided by adding one to the electoral seats and adding one more to it. For example, 90 MLAs multiplied by 100 ie 9000, when it is divided into three by adding two electoral seats, the number will become three thousand, with one joining ie the number becomes 3001.

According to Advocate Hemant Kumar of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, to win a regular seat, a minimum of 3001 worth of votes is required. In this formula, the value of one vote of each MLA is 100 i.e. a Rajya Sabha seat can be won with a minimum of 31 MLAs. Thus Congress has 31 MLAs. She too can win the second seat of the Rajya Sabha, provided the MLA does not vote cross and cast his vote as the first preference (choice) of the candidate of his party.